Through the lives of others – Into me I see

The lives of others can be like mirrors; what do you see in them? It can help to hear about other people’s lives. So even though experts say that people want to read a blog that is 80% about them, what I have to say next is a peep about me – it is personal, and I hope it will be helpful for you.

I did three peep workshops over the past two weeks. In Cardiff and Swansea I got people to pair up and consider their windows; with an odd number in one of the Swansea workshops, I paired up with a young lady called Rachel, and she  insisted that I take a look at one of my own windows. So I chose my Study window.

The following week just as I was preparing for the Cardiff workshop, my Study window blew violently open and the key snapped in the lock. Then in the workshop later that day, I used a chance method (Glass Runes) for people to choose a window to look at. By chance, the window that came up for me was once again the Study.

In Swansea, I had said the following about my window:

“Side glimpses (not main view out) so it is inward looking, good light. Usually the messiest window in the house – I rarely see what is on the sill.”

After Cardiff I thought about it some more; What might my study window mirror about my life at the moment?

In my Study, I rarely look up, and I rarely look out of that window. The violent way that the window blew open, so the wind and rain blew in and the key snapped, was shocking; it forced me to look at the view. I long to spend more time outside – My architecture work has been so busy this year.

Not noticing what is on my own window – the window that I am closest to; I recall the old adage of the cobbler’s shoes, and I pause to take a look at my own life.

In the Cardiff Workshop, we moved on to do a ‘homesouls Oracle’ reading as a reflection of what is happening in these window areas of our lives.

The homesouls Oracle reading for me was “Service through Wisdom”, and it went on to say:

“…….Cultivate the wisdom to serve a community of interest in which you have a common bond……. Cultivating the wisdom to help others requires dedication to the development of one’s own character”.

Sometimes we do not see what is closest to us: My Study window blowing open reflects what I really want; to spend more time outside working on my land, to go to the beach more, to do more Aikido, to dance more, and to take more holidays. Spend less time doing architecture, and more time doing homesouls work, and the type of peeps work that helps others to see their homes as a mirror of Self.

So thanks Rachel, for making me look at my window – I just booked a holiday, I did the garden and went to the beach with Jackie yesterday, and I am going to  Aikido tonight.

That’s a wonderful view!

Lindsay Halton

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.